New Year, New Me?

Happy New Year!!!

Happy New Year!!!

When people say this, it always feels a little contrived doesn’t it?

It’s like birthdays. Yes, you’re a year older than you were this time last year, but technically you’re only a day older than the day before. It’s all about perspective really, so rather than ‘New Year, New Me’ people should say ‘New Year, Improve Me’ because that’s what we really mean and lets be honest it sounds A LOT more achievable.

…And that’s why we set Realistic Goals:

Sometimes you need to remind yourself that change is an up hill struggle..

Sometimes you need to remind yourself that change is an uphill struggle..

One of mine for this year is to sleep more. I, along with millions of Millennials , have a problem. Information overload and constant connection. I feel like I need to be in the know ALL THE TIME,  and the fear missing out drives me to sleepless nights.  But, there are only 24 hours in the day and we should be asleep for at least eight of them.

So, to get around this I’ve taken the out of sight, out of mind approach. Laptops, smartphones and all those little distractions stay DOWNSTAIRS. So far, so good, once I’m in bed at 11:30pm, I think about my phone, wondering how it’s doing and whether it misses me and 15 minutes later sleep is definitely pending.

There are loads of benefits to extra sleep and a healthy weight is one of them. And for us self confessed insomniacs, ASAP Science has a couple of videos (check them out!) that may just change you:

However, aside from catching up on beauty sleep, I do have other goals for the rest of the year, and I figured I might as well share them with you:

  1. Get an entry level job in media or advertising
  2. Sleep earlier
  3. Lose weight (15 kilos *fingers crossed*)
  4. Say bye to dairy *sniffled*
  5. Go out by myself more
  6. Read a book a month
  7. Knit a cardigan
  8. Improve my diet
  9. Study the bible
  10. And Blog more!!!

These are all personal to me and more ongoing than for the New Year but the real goal is for this to be a year of challenges because nothing else can make you better.

Happy New Year Guys!!!

2 thoughts on “New Year, New Me?

Leave a Reply

