Just do it.

Nike had a good thing going on when they dropped that line. Over 25 years and it is still going strong.

In the land of ‘what if…’ and its neighbour ‘maybe if I…’, just do it is a disrupter, a deviant, a troublemaker if you will, that stirs things and changes them for the uncertain.And this my friend, is why we as humans tend to prefer the comfort of ‘what if…’.

There’s no danger in pondering about something. Visualising and fantasising about all the scenarios your mind can spin, knowing that the security blanket of your head is still there.

No risk, no pain.

No risk, no reward.

Now earlier this week I had a real ‘just do it’ moment. If you didn’t know I recently graduated from university and to top that off I turned 22 about two weeks ago and nothing had changed. This made me worry. I have developed so much over the past three years that when I hit a plateau it stunned me. I was antsy, and uneasy, and I didn’t know what to do.

It's ma birthday, it's ma birthday, I'm gon' spend my money

It’s ma birthday, it’s ma birthday, I’m gon’ spend my money (8)

Now I’m someone who doesn’t mind change… unless it’s personal. The idea of letting someone get to know YOU scares me and is something (if I’m honest) I haven’t quite learnt to let go of yet.

However, with all the excitement of turning 22 something took over, I grew wings. I did something I promised myself I would never do. I told someone I liked them. Shock. Horror… Relief. My ‘Just do it’ moment.

Now obviously, every action has a reaction and my relief quickly turned back to horror when I got a response because honestly, I didn’t really want an answer. But I got one and I’m glad.

My first reaction was to slam my laptop shut, run to my room and text my friend, a curse word may have slipped from my mouth (that cannot be confirmed, so we’ll just stick to the fact that it was just one of those things that you just had to be there).

OMG.... Nooo!!!

OMG…. Nooo!!!

My second reaction was to man up, and see what he had to say…….

I laughed. Then I laughed again.

First things first, I read the message in my own voice because it sounded EXACTLY like something I would say and probably have said in the past *awkward turtle*.

And then… realisation struck. I was more than okay that he didn’t feel the same and that rejection could break me but it would never destroy me. That… and that I didn’t like him as much as I thought I did.

He was a crush of convenience. ‘Liking’ him allowed me to say ‘It’s complicated’ or ‘I kind of like someone at the moment’ when I genuinely had no reason not to get to know someone. He was my mental clutch.

I mean, some of my friends have a running joke that I only like someone till they start liking me and now I’m starting to think there’s some truth to that.

Now you’re probably wondering why I told you ALL of that and it’s simple really. People tend to avoid just doing it in all aspects of their lives out of fear of rejection and failure, whether it’s sharing ideas in group work or quitting their job to follow their own dreams.

As someone who is very indecisive, always hovering over the line, I overstand how difficult it is. But, I do know that it’s the difference between being good and being great, and I also know I felt a lot lighter after taking a risk.

The worst anyone can say is no.

Leave a Reply

